Celebrating Excellence in Mental Health Awards


30 / 7 / 2013 8.08am

There are are now ten categories for teams and services including the just launched Time to Change Recognition for Stamping out Stigma Award.  Full details of the categories are outlined below. In addition to NHS Employers, other supporters of the awards include the NHS Confederation, the Mental Health Network, the Mental Health Foundation and the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

The ten award categories

1 - Innovative Services in Mental Health - For a project or service that can demonstrate innovation in the development and operation of a service supporting people with mental health problems, either in-patient or community based. Sponsored by Care UK.

2 - Art, Mental Health and wellbeing - For a project or service that demonstrates positive practice by supporting and encouraging the creative talents of people with mental health problems.

3 - Specific Award for those working in Dementia Services  - For a team who have developed a service who ‘think out of the box’ in how to provide the most effective services for people with dementia and their carers.

4 - Mental Health in Primary care/community - For a service/team working in mental health in primary care/ the community who are providing innovative and integrated primary care mental health services that are highly valued by their patients/carers and which encourages early identification and intervention.

5 - Commissioning for outcomes in Mental Health - For an initiative or service tackling the issue of commissioning for better outcomes in mental health in a more forward thinking way, showing involvement of patients as a central part of the process.

6 - Patient Experience - For an initiative that has demonstrated positive practice through its work to improve the patient experience of services.

7 - Partnership working - For two or more organisations that are working in partnership to break down barriers and provide non-discriminatory services that improve the health and wellbeing of people with a mental health problem in an innovative and forward thinking way.

8 - Mental Health and the Criminal Justice System - For a team or service that has demonstrated positive practice through their innovative service development in the field of mental health and the criminal justice system. Sponsored by Cygnet Healthcare.

9 - Mental Wellbeing of Staff - For an organisation who support the emotional health and mental wellbeing of their staff in an innovative way. Sponsored by Westfield Health. 

10 - Recognition for Stamping out Stigma Award - Time to Change is sponsoring the Recognition for Stamping out Stigma award to celebrate and recognise teams delivering work to tackle stigma and discrimination in mental health services and local communities.

The closing date for submissions has now been extended to 16 August.

To find out more about the awards and to submit your application please visit the Positive Practice in mental health website

Latest Tweets

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Sounds great, what next?

Register Now

Not now, I will register later

Log In