Executive meetings



The 2021 meetings of the Staff Council Executive are:

  • Friday 15 January
  • Thursday 13 May
  • Friday 16 July
  • Friday 19 November


The 2022 meetings of the Staff Council Executive are:

  • Wednesday 19 January 

Below are the lists of the NHS Staff Council Executive members.

The English employers side of the executive committee of the NHS Staff Council is chaired by Jon Lenney, Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation.

The Scottish government, Health and Community Care, Welsh assembly government and The Department of Health and Social Care, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland) are also represented.


Employer side executives

  • Jon Lenney (Employer Chair) - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation

  • Alex van Rees (Employer Secretary) - Head of Employment Relations, NHS Employers

  • Tom Nettel - Director of People, Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

  • Oonagh Monkhouse - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Royal Papworth Hospital

  • Andrew Maloney - Director of Human Resources and Deputy Chief Executive, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Louise Norris - Director of Workforce, Organisational Development and Communication, Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Steve Ned - Joint Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust and Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 

  • Ian Reid - Secretary, Management Steering Group (NHS Scotland Employers)

  • Richard Tompkins - Director, NHS Wales Employers

  • Karen Hargan - Director of Human Resources, Organisational Development and Corporate Communications, Northern Health and Social Care Trust (NHS Northern Ireland Employers)


Staff side executives 

  • Sara Gorton (Staff side chair) - Head of Health, UNISON

  • Jon Skewes (Staff side treasurer) - Executive Director for External Relations, Royal College of Midwives

  • Hannah Reed (Acting staff side Secretary) - RCN National Officer - Royal College of Nursing

  • Elaine Sparkes - Assistant Director for Employment Relations and Union Services, The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy

  • Rachel Harrison - Public Services National Officer, GMB Trade Union

  • Colenzo Jarrett-Thorpe - National Officer for Health, Unite The Union

  • Willie Duffy - Secretary and Head of Bargaining for Health, UNISON Scotland

  • Paul Summers - Regional Organiser/Head of Health, UNISON Cymru Wales

  • Kevin McAdam - Regional Officer, Unite The Union Northern Ireland 

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In