Our workforce policy board

Organisation chart

The policy board advises on NHS Employers' strategic priorities, provides guidance on how we deliver our programmes and informs our evidence to the pay review bodies and consultation responses. 

Members engage with key stakeholders, such as senior representatives from the Department of Health and Social Care and the arm's length bodies, on the implications for the workforce of existing and emerging national policy. Members also champion specific workforce areas, bringing an expert perspective from their organisation and networks. 

Clare Panniker
Debbie Herring Joe Harrison
Clare Panniker

Chair of the Policy Board

Joint Chief Executive of Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust and Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Debbie - Herring

Vice Chair of the Policy Board

Executive Director of Workforce, Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust

Joe Harrison

Vice Chair of the Policy Board

Chief Executive, Milton Keynes University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust


Alastair Henderson  Charles Ashton Darren Kilroy


Chief Executive, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

Charles Ashton

Medical Director, South Warwickshire NHS Foundation Trust

   Darren Kilroy

Medical Director, Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust

Eugine Yafele Kerry Gulliver Kath Griffin

Eugine Yafele head shot

Chief Executive, Dorset HealthCare  University NHS Foundation Trust 

 Kerry gulliver

Director of HR and OD, East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust

Kath Griffin

Director of HR and OD, South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust

Mark Cubbon
Martin Shaw Mary Foulkes

Mark Cubbon

Chief Executive, Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Martin Shaw

Chief Financial Officer, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Mary Foulkes

Director of HR and OD, South London and Maudsley & South West London and St Georges NHS Trust

Matthew Winn Melanie Coombes
Nick Hulme

Matthew Winn

Chief Executive, Cambridgeshire Community Services NHS Trust

Mel Coombes

Director of Nursing, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust         

BT images

Chief Executive, East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust

Paul Cracknell Russell Hills 
Samantha Allen

Paul Cracknell

Director of Strategy and Transformation, Norfolk Community Health and Care NHS Trust

russell hills

Clinical Chair, Surrey Downs Clinical Commissioning Group

 sam allen

Chief Executive, Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Sheena Cumiskey
Siobhan Harrington
Siobhan Melia

 Sheena Cumiskey

Chief Executive, Cheshire and Wirral Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

 Siobhan Harrington

Chief Executive, Whittington Health NHS Trust

Siobhan Melia

Chief Executive, Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust 

Steve Russell Sue Hill Susan Acott
 Steve Russell head shot

Chief Executive,  Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust 

 Prof Sue Hill

Chief Scientific Officer, NHS England and NHS Improvement

BT images

Chief Executive, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust 

 Suzanne Rastrick  Position currently vacant  Position currently vacant
Suzanne Rastrick

Chief Allied Health Professions Officer, NHS Englandand NHS Improvement

Nurse Director (representing AUKUH) Ambulance Trust Chief Executive
Position currently vacant Position currently vacant  
Chair or Non-Executive Director
CCG Chief/Accountable Officer  


Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In