7. Responsibilities for policy and service development implementation

Download Full Handbook Download This Section

This factor measures the responsibilities of the job for development and implementation of policy and/or services. It takes account of the nature of the responsibility and the extent and level of the jobholder’s contribution to the relevant decision-making process, for instance, making recommendations to decision makers. It also takes account of whether the relevant policies or services relate to a function, department, division, directorate, the whole trust or employing organisation, or wider than this; and the degree to which the responsibility is shared with others.

Level 1:       Follows policies in own role which are determined by others; no responsibility for service development, but may be required to comment on policies, procedures or possible developments.  
Level 2: Implements policies for own work area and proposes changes to working practices or procedures for own work area.
Level 3: Implements policies for own work area and proposes policy or service changes which impact beyond own area of activity.
Level 4: Responsible for policy implementation and for discrete policy or service development for a service or more than one area of activity.
Level 5: Responsible for a range of policy implementation and policy or service development for a directorate or equivalent.
Level 6: Corporate responsibility for major policy implementation and policy or service development, which impacts across or beyond the organisation.

Definitions and notes:

Policies (level 1 upwards) refers to a documented method for undertaking a task which is based on best practice, legal requirements or service needs e.g. directorate policy on treatment of leg ulcers or trust/organisation policy on reporting accidents.

Follows policies in own role (level 1) refers to a responsibility for following policy guidelines which impact on own job, where there is no requirement to be pro-active in ensuring that changes are implemented.

Implements policies (level 2 and above) refers to the introduction and putting into practice of new or revised policies eg implementing policies relating to personnel practices, where the jobholder is pro-active in bringing about change in the policy or service. This is a greater level of responsibility than following new policy guidelines for own job, which is covered by the Level 1 definition.

Own work area (levels 2 and 3) refers to the immediate section/department.

Proposes policy or service changes (level 3) includes participation on working parties proposing policy changes as an integral part of the job (i.e. not a one-off exercise on a single issue). At this level, policy or service changes must impact on other disciplines, sections, departments or parts of the service.

Beyond own area of activity (level 3) refers to own function/service/discipline and not a geographic area e.g. where policy changes impact on other disciplines within multi-disciplinary (non-clinical or clinical) teams or outside own specialist area. It does not refer, for example, to the same function, service or discipline in other parts of the trust/organisation.

Service (level 4) refers to a (discrete) standalone service, which may be a sub-division of a directorate, e.g. oncology, haematology, care of the elderly, catering, accounts.

Responsible for policy implementation and for discrete policy or service development (level 4) applies where the jobholder has overall responsibility for policy or service development and for its practical implementation. This responsibility should normally be specified on the job description.

Directorate or equivalent (level 5) refers to areas such as the medical services, children services, community services, estates services, hotel services, finance directorate and human resources directorate.

Corporate responsibility (level 6) refers to responsibility for policy or service development such as is held by those on the Board or equivalent level of accountability e.g. director of HR, director of corporate services, providing they hold the highest level of responsibility for the particular policy or service development area, besides the chief executive.

Why Register?

Sounds great, what next?

Not now, I will register later

Log In