T Levels UCAS points equivalent to three A Levels

Student studying outside 2

T Level qualifications will be worth the equivalent UCAS points to three A Levels.

T Levels are two-year technical qualifications which include a work placement and will be implemented from September 2020.

The government has confirmed one T Level programme will be equivalent to three A levels and UCAS points will be allocated to the overall grade.

The overall grade for T Levels will be shown as:

  • Distinction* which is the equivalent to 3 A*s at A level
  • Distinction which is the equivalent to 3 As at A level
  • Merit which is the equivalent to 3 Bs at A level
  • Pass which is the equivalent to 3 Cs at A level
  • Pass which is the equivalent to 3 D or Es at A level
Overall grades will be worked out from the grades students achieve on the core component and the occupational specialism of a T Level programme.

T Levels provide a technical alternative to A levels. They have been designed with employers, to give 16 to 18-year-olds the skills which industries are looking for. They will be taught full time in colleges and include an industry placement for a minimum of 45 days.
Employers at our recent T Level workshops, voiced their support for UCAS points to directly align with points for A levels.

There are still spaces in our upcoming T Level workshops, click on the relevant location below to find out more:
For more information about T Levels, visit our dedicated webpage.

Read the government’s guidance on UCAS points and T Level grading on gov.uk.


Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In