Minimum statutory/mandatory training for returning staff


To support returning staff to the NHS, there are four statutory/mandatory training e-learning modules that are required to be completed as a minimum:

  • Health, safety and welfare
  • Fire safety
  • Infection prevention and control – level 2
  • Resuscitation – level 2.

It has also been recommended that, for current NHS employees who have not changed roles and who have previously undertaken training in the core subjects of statutory/mandatory training, refresher training requirements should be suspended for the duration of the current crisis.

More detail on this is available through Health Education England’s e-learning portal.

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In