India added to the growing list of travel banned countries


India has been added to the red list of countries from which most travel is banned, due to fears of a new COVID-19 variant.

From 4am on Friday 23rd April, most people who have travelled from India in the last ten days will be refused entry to England. 

Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights in the UK (including long-term visa and work visa holders), will be allowed to enter England. 

For NHS staff this means that those with a valid visa (such as EU Settled Status or a Health and Care Visa) can enter the UK but they must stay in a government-approved quarantine facility for ten days, take a coronavirus test on or before day two and on or after day eight, and cannot use the Test to Release Scheme.

India joins the Philippines on the red list, which are both large sources of international nurses to support the 50,000 nurse target.  

You can read the full announcement on GOV.UK and find out more information on what this means for NHS staff on our continuing international recruitment during COVID-19 web pages. 

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In