Countries to be added to the list of those banned from travel

passport control sign

The Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh have been added to the list of countries that are banned entry to England and travel bans will be implemented from Friday 9 April. 

Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights in the UK (including long-term visa and work visa holders), will be allowed to enter England. However, they must stay in a government-approved quarantine facility for 10 days, take a coronavirus test on or before day two and on or after day eight, and cannot use the Test to Release Scheme. 

For more information about residence rights and how these impact travel from red listed countries, please see our FAQ page

With a large number of international nurses arriving at NHS trusts from the Philippines as part of the 50,000 nurse target, NHS England and Improvement has written to international recruitment leads to discuss the next steps. 

NHS Employers will update our continuing international recruitment during COVID-19 pages with the latest restrictions and testing procedures. 

For more information about the changes, please see the GOV.UK website. 


Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In