Boost in trusts awarded gold for support of Armed Forces staff

An impressive tally of NHS trusts has received gold recognition from the Ministry of Defence for their support of the Armed Forces community.

19 July 2022

A total of 24 NHS trusts have received the highest recognition for their commitment to the Armed Forces community, achieving the Defence Employer Recognition Scheme (ERS) Gold Award.

The ERS is run each year by the Ministry of Defence, encouraging employers across the UK to recognise and champion the value that Armed Forces community members bring to the workplace.

Across England, 24 NHS trusts were either awarded or revalidated with gold status, out of 156 organisations achieving gold across all sectors. The number is double that of last year’s NHS cohort of 12 trusts awarded gold in 2021.

The full list of NHS trusts achieving gold in 2022 comprises:

  • Ashford & St. Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust     
  • Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust       
  • Cumbria, Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust           
  • East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Guys and St Thomas NHS Foundation Trust         
  • Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust        
  • Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust      
  • Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust    
  • North East Ambulance Service   
  • North West Ambulance Service NHS Trust           
  • Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust    
  • Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust            
  • Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust         
  • Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust
  • Somerset NHS Foundation Trust
  • South Central Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust
  • South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust   
  • Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust           
  • University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust 
  • University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust   
  • University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Foundation Trust     
  • University Hospitals Sussex NHS Foundation Trust           
  • Yeovil District Hospital NHS Foundation Trust     

NHS Employers’ Armed Forces team is hugely proud of the NHS organisations awarded gold and the significant increase in trust’s achieving the highest recognition under the  scheme.

The ERS awards recognise three levels of commitment in total; bronze, silver and gold, with 15 NHS organisations also awarded or revalidated as silver this year.

To qualify, employers must sign the Armed Forces Covenant, make small adjustments to corporate policies and foster an inclusive work culture to ensure members of the Armed Forces community are supported in employment and not at a disadvantage during recruitment due to their military status.

Begin your journey to gold

Visit our dedicated ERS Award webpage to find out more about the awards. For good practice tips, read our blogs from gold-standard NHS trusts, including:

Celebrating this year’s awards

NHS Employers’ Armed Forces team will host two special Community Connect sessions in September to celebrate this year’s award winners, with presentations to share best practice, opportunities for questions and further information on the benefits of the scheme.

The sessions are scheduled for 20 and 22 September 2022 and further details will be made available via our usual communications channels. You can learn more about community connect on our Armed Forces networks web page.  

For more guidance on how you can become a forces-friendly employer, view our infographic and follow @NHSEArmedForces on Twitter.