News

Latest dates for industrial action

Trade unions representing NHS staff in England have announced strike action dates for 2023.

31 January 2023

The GMB, Unison, Royal College of Nursing (RCN) and Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (CSP) trade unions have announced dates for planned industrial action.

This web page details the latest strike dates scheduled to take place.

Please note: not all NHS organisations will be impacted by the strike action, only those selected by the union where a qualifying number of staff have voted to take action.

Keep monitoring the NHS Employers website for any further updates. 

Strike dates in England

  • Monday 23 January - Unison members at qualifying ambulance trusts.
  • Monday 23 January - GMB West Midlands ambulance service members taking strike action.
  • Tuesday 24 January - GMB North West ambulance service member taking strike action.
  • Monday 6 February - RCN members at 73 qualifying trusts
  • Monday 6 February - GMB and Unite ambulance workers taking strike action.
  • Tuesday 7 February - RCN members at 73 qualifying trusts.
  • Thursday 9 February - CSP members at 32 health trusts.
  • Friday 10 February - Unison ambulance workers across London, Yorkshire, the South West, North East and North West.
  • Friday 17 February - Unite West Midlands ambulance service taking strike action.
  • Monday 20 February - GMB and Unite ambulance workers taking strike action in the East Midlands and North East. 
  • Wednesday 22 February - Unite North West ambulance service member taking strike action.
  • Monday 6 March - GMB and Unite ambulance workers taking strike action.
  • Monday 20 March - GMB and Unite ambulance workers taking strike action.

Useful resources

  • Our industrial action strike days page has been updated to reflect these announcements.
  • Information to support employers with industrial action, including FAQs, can be found on our dedicated web pages.