NMC post-registration standards

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) recently approved a suite of new standards

31 May 2022

The Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) has confirmed the approval of new post-registration standards.

These standards cover:

  • proficiency for specialist community public health nurses
  • proficiency for community nursing specialist practice qualifications
  • associated post-registration programme standards.

Last year, the NMC, the professional regulator of more than 758,000 nurses, midwives and nursing associates, held a 16-week consultation which provided employers with the opportunity to help shape the new suite of standards.

The final standards are evidence-based and help to make sure that specialist community public health nurses get a great education that reflects contemporary practice. This helps to ensure that people can access highly skilled, specialist support and care, close to home.

Notes from the meeting and the draft standards can be accessed on the NMC website. The approved new standards will be launched in an accessible format in the coming weeks. NHS Employers will update this page with links to the new standards, following the launch.