Developing countries - recruitment

World mosaic

The newly revised (25 February 2021) Department of Health and Social Care Code of Practice for International Recruitment states that some developing countries should not be targeted when actively recruiting healthcare professionals.

This country list below is based upon the World Health Organisation Health (WHO) Workforce Support and Safeguard List, 2020 and will be updated alongside scheduled progress reports on WHO Global Code implementation and reported to the World Health Assembly every three years. 

The countries listed have a UHC Service Coverage Index that is lower than 50 and a density of doctors, nurses and midwives that is below the global median (48.6 per 10,000 population).

The list doesn’t prevent individual health and social care personnel from independently applying to health and social care employers for employment in the UK, of their own accord and without being targeted by a third party, such as a recruitment agency or employer.

 Afghanistan  Angola  Bangladesh   Benin   Burkina Faso
 Burundi  Cameroon  Central African Republic  Chad  Congo
 Congo, Democratic Republic of  Côte d'Ivoire  Djibouti  Equatorial Guinea  Eritrea
 Ethiopia   Gabon  Gambia, The  Ghana  Guinea
 Guinea-Bissau  Haiti  Kiribati  Lesotho  Liberia
 Madagascar  Malawi  Mali  Mauritania  Micronesia, Federated States of
 Mozambique  Nepal  Niger  Nigeria  Pakistan
 Papua New Guinea  Senegal  Sierra Leone  Solomon Islands  Somalia
 South Sudan  Sudan  Togo  Uganda  Tanzania, United Republic of
 Vanuatu  Yemen, Republic of      

Why Register?

Great reasons to register with NHS Employers

  • A personalised website
    Manage your profile and select topics of interest to you
  • Access your dashboard
    Bookmark useful content to help you quickly find what you're looking for
  • Get involved
    Contribute to our Talking Points discussions, comment on and rate our webpages
  • Keep up to date
    Receive the latest newsletters and media summaries

Log In