NHS Staff Council

Responsible for the Agenda for Change pay system.
Abstract shapes
NHS Staff Council logo

The NHS Staff Council has responsibility for the Agenda for Change pay system and has representatives from both employers and trade unions.

The Staff Council's remit includes:

  • maintaining the Agenda for Change pay system
  • negotiating any changes in core conditions for staff on Agenda for Change and reflecting these in the NHS terms and conditions of service handbook 
  • providing national support on interpreting the national agreement for employers and trade unions.

Joint referrals

Where local partnerships are unable to agree an interpretation of the NHS terms and conditions of service, parties are able to submit a joint referral to the NHS Staff Council seeking clarity. These can be made to the joint NHS Staff Council secretaries via the NHS Staff Council secretariat. Referrals must be made in partnership (employer and trade union) in order for the NHS Staff Council to be able to give a view.

Meeting dates of the Staff Council Executive

  • Wednesday, 10 May 2023
  • Wednesday, 5 July 2023
  • Monday, 25 September 2023 plenary
  • Wednesday, 8 November 2023
  • Wednesday, 24 January 2024

NHS Staff Council Executive members

The English employers side of the executive committee of the NHS Staff Council is chaired by Jon Lenney, Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation.

The Scottish government, Health and Community Care, Welsh assembly government and The Department of Health and Social Care, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland) are also represented.

    • Sara Gorton (Staff side chair) - Head of Health, UNISON
    • Alice Sorby (Staff side treasurer) - Director, Employment Relations, Royal College of Midwives
    • Elaine Sparkes (Staff side secretary) - Assistant Director for Employment Relations and Union Services, The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
    • Rachel Harrison - Public Services National Officer, GMB Trade Union
    • Colenzo Jarrett-Thorpe - National Officer for Health, Unite The Union
    • Joanne Galbraith-Marten – Director of Employment Relations and Legal Services, Royal College of Nursing
    • Matt McLaughlin, UNISON, Scotland
    • Nicky Hughes, Associate Director of Nursing, Royal College of Nursing, Cymru Wales
    • Kevin McAdam - Regional Officer, Unite The Union Northern Ireland
    • Jon Lenney (Employer chair until 1 April 2023) - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation
    • Oonagh Monkhouse (Employer chair from 1 April 2023) - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Royal Papworth Hospital
    • Karen Barnard (Employer Secretary) - Assistant Director, Employment Relations, NHS Employers
    • Tom Nettel - Director of People, Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
    • Andrew Maloney - Director of Human Resources and Deputy Chief Executive, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust 
    • Steve Ned - Joint Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust and Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 
    • Ian Reid - Secretary, Management Steering Group (NHS Scotland Employers)
    • Richard Tompkins - Director, NHS Wales Employers
    • Karen Hargan - Director of Human Resources, Organisational Development and Corporate Communications, Northern Health and Social Care Trust (NHS Northern Ireland Employers)
NHS Staff Council - Health, Safety and Wellbeing Group logo

Health, Safety and Wellbeing Group (HSWG)

The NHS Staff Council’s HSWG was established to:

  • raise standards of workplace health, safety and wellbeing in healthcare organisations
  • promote a safer working environment for all healthcare staff
  • promote best practice across the NHS and independent sector.

Membership of the partnership group is made up of NHS Employers representatives, nominated representatives from within the NHS and trade union representatives.

Please note the HSWG will be reviewing some of the key guidance, including:

NHS Staff Council - Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Group logo

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Group (EDIG)

The EDIG is a national technical group of the NHS Staff Council and works to deliver the equality agenda. The EDIG works in partnership and prepares an annual work programme which is agreed by the executive of the NHS Staff Council. The group comprises of employer representatives from across the NHS and health care.  

The Scottish Government, Welsh Assembly Government and the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland) are also represented on the EDIG.

NHS Staff Council - Evaluation Group logo

The Job Evaluation Group (JEG)

The NHS Staff Council's Job Evaluation Group (JEG) provides expert advice, information and training for employers on the implementation of the NHS job evaluation scheme and is responsible for producing the NHS job evaluation handbook.

The NHS job evaluation scheme measures the skills, responsibilities and effort required for a job, and allocates it to an Agenda for Change pay band. This is achieved by matching jobs to national job profiles or evaluating jobs locally, to set the basic pay for staff.

  • Employer representatives

    • Claire Surtees - Head of Workforce Specialist Services at NHS Blood & Transplant
    • Salli Roddis - Deputy Director of People at NHS Sussex ICB
    • Andrea Thomas - NHS Wales Employers
    • Bill Partner - Norfolk Community Health and Care NHS
    • Helen Cruess - James Paget University Hospital 
    • Jan Mumford - London Ambulance 
    • Kay Gilbert - Independent Advisor, Equal Pay
    • Lisa Barclay - NHSBSA
    • Oonagh Burns - HSCNI
    • Paul Watt - NHS Scotland

    Staff side representatives

    • Louise Chinnery - UNISON National Officer, UNISON
    • Ann Fordham - RCM Regional Officer (South East England), Royal College of Midwives
    • Clare Jacobs - Royal Collage of Nursing 
    • Martin Jackson - Chair of GMB National NHS Committee, GMB
    • Paul Smith - Staff side Secretary, James Paget University Hospital
    • Penny Bromley - Senior Negotiating Officer, The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
    • Peter Higgs - Society of Radiographers 
    • Kevin McAdam - Unite Regional Officer for Health, Unite the Union Northern Ireland
    • Vivienne Nelson - Unison