NHS Staff Council

The NHS Staff Council has responsibility for the Agenda for Change pay system and has representatives from both employers and trade unions.
Staff council logo

The Staff Council's remit includes:

Joint referrals

Where local partnerships are unable to agree an interpretation of the NHS terms and conditions of service, parties are able to submit a joint referral to the NHS Staff Council seeking clarity. These can be made to the joint NHS Staff Council secretaries via the NHS Staff Council secretariat. Referrals must be made in partnership (employer and trade union) in order for the NHS Staff Council to be able to give a view.

Meeting dates of the Staff Council Executive

The 2021 meetings of the Staff Council Executive are:

  • Friday 16 July
  • Friday 19 November

The 2022 meetings of the Staff Council Executive are:

  • Wednesday 19 January 

NHS Staff Council Executive members

The English employers side of the executive committee of the NHS Staff Council is chaired by Jon Lenney, Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation.

The Scottish government, Health and Community Care, Welsh assembly government and The Department of Health and Social Care, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland) are also represented.

    • Sara Gorton (Staff side chair) - Head of Health, UNISON
    • Jon Skewes (Staff side treasurer) - Executive Director for External Relations, Royal College of Midwives
    • Hannah Reed (Acting staff side Secretary) - RCN National Officer - Royal College of Nursing
    • Elaine Sparkes - Assistant Director for Employment Relations and Union Services, The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
    • Rachel Harrison - Public Services National Officer, GMB Trade Union
    • Colenzo Jarrett-Thorpe - National Officer for Health, Unite The Union
    • Willie Duffy - Secretary and Head of Bargaining for Health, UNISON Scotland
    • Paul Summers - Regional Organiser/Head of Health, UNISON Cymru Wales
    • Kevin McAdam - Regional Officer, Unite The Union Northern Ireland 
    • Jon Lenney (Employer Chair) - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Manchester Local Care Organisation
    • Alex van Rees (Employer Secretary) - Head of Employment Relations, NHS Employers
    • Tom Nettel - Director of People, Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
    • Oonagh Monkhouse - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development, Royal Papworth Hospital
    • Andrew Maloney - Director of Human Resources and Deputy Chief Executive, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust 
    • Louise Norris - Director of Workforce, Organisational Development and Communication, Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust 
    • Steve Ned - Joint Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust and Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 
    • Ian Reid - Secretary, Management Steering Group (NHS Scotland Employers)
    • Richard Tompkins - Director, NHS Wales Employers
    • Karen Hargan - Director of Human Resources, Organisational Development and Corporate Communications, Northern Health and Social Care Trust (NHS Northern Ireland Employers)

Health, Safety and Wellbeing Partnership Group (HSWPG)

The NHS Staff Council’s HSWPG was established to:

  • raise standards of workplace health, safety and wellbeing in healthcare organisations
  • promote a safer working environment for all healthcare staff
  • promote best practice across the NHS and independent sector.

Membership of the partnership group is made up of NHS Employers representatives, nominated representatives from within the NHS and trade union representatives.

Please note the HSWPG will be reviewing some of the key guidance, including:

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Group (EDIG)

The EDIG is a national technical group of the NHS Staff Council and works to deliver the equality agenda. The EDIG works in partnership and prepares an annual work programme which is agreed by the executive of the NHS Staff Council. The group comprises of employer representatives from across the NHS and health care.  

The Scottish Government, Welsh Assembly Government and the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland) are also represented on the EDIG